Β 

BLOG

  • sksvijzendoorn

NICE TO MEET YOU πŸ™‹πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

Yaay, great, another travel blogger! So why follow me? Great question, I honestly don't have the answer to that. So here a Q&A to introduce myself so you can decide for yourself whether you like to stick around.


Who am I?

My name is Shanna, 29 years old. Besides traveling, I love dancing, singing (even though it sounds terrible), shopping, cats, good food, wine & brown rum, the beach and of course the sun!


What is my favorite food?

Roti! This famous Surinamese dish is something I can eat every week. Besides that, anything with chicken. I can't even name all the delicious variations of chicken dishes I have tasted in Jamaica.


What is my background?

I was born and raised in Alkmaar, NL. At the age of 21 I moved to Haarlem, where I lived for 6 years. After traveling the years after I decided to move back to Alkmaar. Most of my family and friends live here, so for me this is home,


What do I do for a living?

I have worked as a project manager in the fields of marketing, interior design and fashion. Right now I work in e-commerce for a Dutch fashion brand. Besides my career in NL I have worked in Surinam as a marketing manager at a school for special needs children and as a tour operator.


What is the most adventurous thing I have ever done?

Definitely moving to the Dominican Republic! In December 2019 I quit my job in NL and moved to the DR in January 2020. It was my plan to live and work in the DR for almost a year. Through a connection I had the opportunity to launch a small hotelbar and doing translation work. Unfortunately I had some delays with my paperwork while I was already there and on top of that Corona happend, so I had to move back to NL a few months after.


What is the most beautiful country I have visited?

Cuba for sure! Such a beautiful islands with so much diversity in landscape, people, nature and architecture. I have travelled here with my dad, we have visited every province on the island in 3 weeks. An amazing experience and definitely worth visiting!


What was my first solo travel?

I went to Bali for 4 weeks, I remember being super nervous but also extremely excited! I had an overall great experience but also learned a lot from this trip. It is not always easy to travel by yourself as a woman, because you always feel somewhat like a target. So yes, I met some people with wrong intensions and my phone got stolen, but still I managed to stay positive and make the best of it.


What is my dream?

To be able to make a difference in the world. I know I will not be able to solve big issues, but I would love to contribute in my own way. To open peoples eyes and do something for the ones who need a little extra help.


​Alright, that was it for now! But please feel free to ask me anything!


Check out my Instagram too! @travellink.info

​

I hope you enjoy my blog!


Love,

Shanna

HI THERE!

HI! Mijn naam is Shanna, 29 jaar en ik ben geboren en getogen in Alkmaar, NL. De afgelopen jaren heb ik veel gereisd en ik denk dat ik ondertussen wel kan zeggen dat ik een fervent reiziger ben geworden. Ik deel met passie mijn ervaringen en help je graag op weg!  Heb je advies nodig? Contact mij!

SOCIAL MEDIA

  • Instagram

Instagram

  • Facebook

Facebook

Β